The term “wage and hour” can encompass several violations in California, including, unpaid overtime, unpaid wages, failure to pay minimum wage, failure to provide lawful meal and rest breaks, and more.
As a general matter, California requires that overtime be paid for any hours over 8 hours in one day or 40 hours in one week. Certain exceptions may apply depending on your position or job.
In addition, most people believe that just because they are paid a salary, they are not entitled to overtime – this is a common mistake. The rule is that all employees in California are entitled to overtime pay unless they meet very rigid tests for exemption. If the employee is being paid a salary, not paid overtime, and does not meet an exemption - this is called misclassification and the employee may be entitled to unpaid overtime/wages for all overtime hours they worked, as well as certain premiums and penalties.
You can find more information about California's overtime provisions by visiting this link: https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_overtime.htm. Or contact our firm for a free consultation.